Posted by: bean | December 22, 2009

Chapter XII: Butterflies

That night as Rowan slept, she couldn’t stop thinking of Joshua.  In her dreams, that night had played out completely different.  Instead of running from the fear of getting hurt, she had stayed on that Pier.  Stayed with Joshua.  As he leaned forward to kiss her, she did not recoil, but embraced it.  They had stayed locked in each others arms until the dawning sun broke over them.

Rowan sat up suddenly in her bed.  She was surprised to be in her own room.  The dream had been so vivid, so real.   With her hand she touched her lips.   She could still feel the sensation of Joshua’s lips on her own.  In that moment Rowan realized how huge of a mistake she had made.  Joshua had been there, by her side, for years.  And now to hurt him like she did, was unforgivable.

The morning sun beamed through Rowan’s windows.  Wearily she opened her eyes and sat up on her bed.  She knew what needed to be done.  All she needed was the courage to do so.  Breathing out a heavy sigh, she nervously dialed Joshua’s number.  It rang for what seemed like eternity before he finally answered.

“Hey.”  Joshua said with a depressed voice.

“Hey.”  She answered back, even more depressed than him.  “Meet me at Look Out Rock…I need to talk to you about last night.”

“OK.  Give me Five minutes and I’ll be there.”

Rowan hung up the phone and got ready as quickly as she could.  As she neared their hang out spot, she could see that Joshua was already waiting.  Its now or never, she thought to herself, knowing that this was her one and only shot at fixing things with him.  She walked up and stood in front of him.  Almost in tears, she was searching for the right words to say.  But she didn’t even fully understand why she did what she did, how was she going to explain it to Joshua?

“I’m sorry about leaving so suddenly last night.”  Rowan finally managed to say.

“Aww, its alright.  I shouldn’t have tried to, you know.”  He said looking away with embarrassment.

“No, I wanted you to kiss me! Its just that I’m scared … and  I don’t want to loose you…” She replied.  Rowan was shocked of her own boldness.  Joshua reached his hands forward and pulled her in close to him, happy that she reciprocated his feelings.  This time Rowan fought the urge to slip away again.  She knew she loved him, she had since the first day they had met.  She starred up into his gorgeous blue eyes and smiled tenderly at him.  Rowan could feel her heart beating faster the closer she came to him.

“Now, let’s try this again.”  Joshua said suggestively.  He leaned forward to kiss her.  As their lips met, everything around them faded away.  Until all that was left was them.

Responses

  1. Great new update! They are so cute together!

    • Aww, thank you!

  2. They mtach! ^_^ so complementry. Good for Rowan for fighting her fear live without regrets!

  3. Aww I hope everything works out between Rowan and Joshua! Also, I’m wondering how things are between Amelia (sorry if that’s not her actual name..) and Onion, and between Chloe’ and the mystery man. O.o
    So many things going on at once…I don’t know if my brain can handle it. Alas, as always, I can’t wait for another update (my brain will just have to suck it up lol).
    Great writing, Bean. 🙂

  4. Wonderful pictures and writing (as always) and I must admit that happiness can be interesting. Might add some of it in my legacy 😛

  5. Very good Bean! I’m about to work on another chapter for mine!!

  6. Just wondering does Rowan care to know who her father is? I mean she all grown up now you might think she has a question or two. I know I want to know enough fro the both of us ;D

    waiting for the next chapter lovely update and Merry Christmas to you! (or what ever holiday you choose to celebrate)

  7. Yay, I’m caught up at last! I’m glad Rowan & Joshua finally got together, they make a cute couple. I especially like the last part! Well done.

    And happy holidays! 🙂

  8. Awww! What a nice day to read this happy chapter. I hope they’re together forever! Merry Christmas and happy holidays!

  9. Yay! You left it at such a tragic cliffhanger last time! I am glad to see that Rowan might have a chance at a normal functional life with Joshua! Rowan dosen’t have to become like her Mom, I am rooting for her!

  10. soooo love how the last pic has the color splash effect

    • Thanks! I use photobucket…lol…took me forever to get it just right.


Leave a Reply

Categories

